MUMBAI: Former India opener Anshuman Gaekwad is set to succeed Ashok Malhotra as the new president of the Indian Cricketers’ Association.
As per the draft list of nominated candidates for the ICA election, which will be held from October 27-29 and will be conducted by BCCI’s Electoral Officer AK Joti, Gaekwad, who was the ICA’s male representative in the BCCI Apex Council in the last term, is the sole candidate for the president’s post. Gaekwad has just turned 70 and was ineligible to take up any post in the Board, though he is eligible for the ICA top post which doesn’t have an age bar.
Former India skipper Dilip Vengsarkar will take on Malhotra, an ex-India batsman, for the post of one male ICA Representative Nominee to the BCCI’s Apex Council. Former India captain Shubhangi Kulkarni will replace Shantha Rangaswamy as a female player representative in BCCI’s Apex Council.
Former Mumbai and Hyderabad batsman Vijay Mohanraj will become the ICA’s player representative in the IPL Governing Council. Hitesh Majmudar will take on Surendra Nayak for the ICA secretary’s post, while Rakesh Parikh will vie with V Krishnaswamy for the treasurer’s position.
Former India women’s team captain Rangaswamy, former Test player Yajurvindra Singh and Jyoti Thatte will battle for the two ICA Member Representatives.
In the case of the Mumbai Cricket Association, India’s 1983 World Cup hero Balwinder Singh Sandhu will take on former First-Class player Anand Yalvigi for the male ICA representative, while Sangita Katware will be the female ICA representative.


Source link

By Dipak

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *