New Delhi, Sep 23: Former India captain Dilip Tirkey, who was the front-runner for the post of Hockey India president, was elected unopposed for the top job on Friday.

Hockey India elections were scheduled to be held on October 1 but the results were declared in advance as there were no contestants for any of the posts, paving the way for the incumbent candidates to be elected unopposed as per the federation’s Constitution.

ALSO READ | Ind vs Aus: Adam Gilchrist’s Straightforward Verdict On ‘Rishabh Pant vs Dinesh Karthik’ Debate

Tirkey was elected after Uttar Pradesh Hockey chief Rakesh Katyal and Hockey Jharkhand’s Bhola Nath Singh, who were in the fray for the president’s post, withdrew their nominations on Friday.

“Thanks @DrSYQuraishi & @FIH_Hockey for conducting smooth elections of @TheHockeyIndia. I will ensure that Indian hockey reaches to new heights,” former India captain Dilip Tirkey tweeted. 

Bhola Nath has been elected unopposed as secretary general.

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has approved Tirkey and his team’s appointments.

In a letter, the FIH said that when the number of contesting candidates for any post is equal to or less than the number of posts, they shall be deemed to have been elected unopposed as per election by-laws on the Hockey India website.

ALSO READ | Pak vs Eng: Shaheen Afridi’s ‘Time To get Rid Of Selfish Babar, Rizwan’ Tweet Goes Viral

“Therefore, we are pleased to observe that the Executive Board of Hockey India stands elected as has been put on the website of Hockey India and that the posts election was unanimous for all posts,” it said. 


Source link

By Dipak

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.