IPL 2022 Full Schedule: Defending champions Chennai Super Kings will take on Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at the Wankhede Stadium on March 26 in the opening match of the 15th leg of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The BCCI (Cricket Board of India) on Sunday announced the schedule of this breathtaking league which will be played at four stadiums – Wankhede Stadium and Cricket Club of India in Mumbai, DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai and Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune.

12 double headers this season

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah said in a media release, “A total of 70 league matches and four playoff matches will be played in 65 days. There will be 12 ‘double headers’ (two matches in a day) in the tournament and on these days the first match will start at 3.30 pm and the evening match will start at 7.30 pm.

The first ‘double-header’ will take place on March 27 with the day’s match at the Brabourne Stadium (CCI) in which Delhi Capitals will take on five-time champions Mumbai Indians. Then the evening match will be played at the DY Patil Stadium in which Punjab Kings will face Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Matches will be played in these stadiums

The first match will be played in Pune on March 29 in which Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals will face each other. The BCCI had already announced that 20 matches will be played at Wankhede and DY Patil Stadiums while 15-15 matches will be played at Brabourne Stadium and Pune. The final league match will also be played at the Wankhede Stadium here in which Sunrisers Hyderabad will face Punjab Kings on 22 May.

Two new teams Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants will play their first match on March 28 at the Wankhede Stadium. The BCCI said the schedule for the playoffs and the final (to be held on May 29) would be announced later. This time 10 teams will take part instead of 8 during the tournament. Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans have entered the league this time.

Changes in the format of IPL

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 will be played in a changed format, in which 10 teams are divided into two groups of five teams each, but despite this, each team will play 14 matches as before. The Cricket Board of India (BCCI) on Friday revealed the group of the team.

Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Supergiants are in Group A while Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Punjab Kings and Gujarat Titans have been placed in Group B.

5-time champions Mumbai Indians will begin their campaign on March 27, the first of 12 double-headers in the league stage of IPL 2022. A total of 70 league matches and 4 playoff games will be played over 65 days. Punjab Kings will face Royal Challengers Bangalore in the second match on March 27.

IPL said, “There will be a total of 12 double headers with the first match starting at 3:30 PM IST. All the evening matches will start at 7:30 PM. Altogether 20-20 matches will be played at Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium. In the U.S., 15-15 matches will be held at Brabourne and MCA International Stadium, Pune.”

The 10 teams will play a total of 14 league matches (7 home matches and 7 outside matches), with a total of 70 league matches, followed by 4 playoff matches. Each team will play the 5 teams twice and the remaining 4 teams only once (2 at home, 2 out). All the teams will play 4 matches each at Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium. There will be 3 matches each at Brabourne Stadium (CCI) and MCA International Stadium, Pune.

Teams will start practice from March 14

All the teams of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 will start their practice from March 14. For this, five places have been identified where the teams will practice. IPL 2022 is scheduled to be held from March 26 and will be held at Mumbai Cricket Association’s (MCA) Bandra Kurla Complex, MCA Stadium in Thane, Dr. DY Patil University Ground, Football Ground in association with CCI (Cricket Club of India) and Reliance Corporate in Ghansoli. Park grounds have been identified as practice sites. The players are expected to reach here from March 8.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.