Pakistan in T20 World Cup 2022: Pakistan cricket team is all set to start its T20 World Cup campaign on October 23 against arch-nemesis India. Ahead of the T20 World Cup. Babar Azam-led Pakistan faced a 3-4 loss in a close-fought T20 International series against England. However, the team bounced back by winning the T20 tri-series involving New Zealand and Bangladesh. The series pointed out that Pakistan’s middle-order was a major concern for them as their 3-6 number batters not being able to deliver put enormous pressure on its openers.

The team announced by the Pakistan Cricket Board for T20 WC in Australia did not include name of T20 veteran Shoaib Malik. Fans had expected the Pak veteran to make a comeback into the national team but this did not happen. Reacting to Malik getting snubbed, his former teammate Shahid Afridi asserted that people remember names of such players only when the new guys fail to perform.

“Ham naye ladke ko chance dete hain. Vo perform nahi kar paate toh puraane yaad aane lagte hain. Logon ko Shoaib Malik kyun yaad aata hai? Isliye kyunki koi perform nahi kar raha hota aur fir vo hi hamein achha lag raha hota hai. (We give chances to new people, and when they don’t perform, we start remembering the old ones. Why are people remembering Shoaib Malik? It’s because the newer guys aren’t performing),” Afridi said on Samaa TV.

“Mere baare me logon ki rai thi ki Lala aap abhi bhi khel sakte hain. Par main bol deta hu ki bas, ho gaya hai. (People also tell me that I can still play for Pakistan. But for me, that chapter is over),” said Afridi.

Pakistan’s T20 World Cup squad: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Shan Masood.

Reserves: Mohammad Haris, Shahnawaz Dahani, and Usman Qadir.


Source link

By Dipak

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *