New Delhi: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) opener Ruturaj Gaikwad, after consecutive average and poor outings in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, missed out on scoring his IPL career’s second century. Had the young batter scored just one more run against Sunrisers Hyderabad tonight, he would have become the third batsman to score a century in this season of IPL. Ruturaj Gaikwad was outstanding with the bat against Hyderabad but unfortunately got dismissed on 99.

The 25-year-old CSK opener attained a remarkable feat on Sunday as he became the joint-fastest cricketer to score 1000 runs in the Indian Premier League (IPL) history.

Gaikwad also equaled Indian batting legend Sachin Tendulkar’s record of scoring the fastest 1000 runs in IPL. Sachin and Ruturaj both scored the fastest 1000 IPL runs in 31 IPL innings.

Cricketers who scored the fastest 1000 IPL runs

Sachin Tendulkar – 31 innings
Ruturaj Gaikwad – 31 innings 
Suresh Raina – 34 innings 
Rishabh Pant – 35 innings 
Devdutt Padikkal – 35 innings 

Gaikwad played a crucial role in helping lift the IPL trophy last season. He made his debut for CSK back in the year 2020. IPL 2021 was the breakthrough season for the stylish batter as he was able to score 635 runs in 16 IPL games.

Earlier, MS Dhoni returned as the captain of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 on Sunday after all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja stepped down from captaincy duties to focus on his own form. 


Source link

By Dipak

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *