Sri Lanka squad for T20 World Cup 2022: Sri Lanka on Friday announced its official squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia.  Sri Lanka have named Dushmantha Chamira and Lahiru Kumara in their 15-member squad for the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, but their participation will depend on their fitness ahead of the tournament. Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayavikrama, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando and Nuwanidu Fernando have been selected as standby players, but only Bandara and Jayawickrama will accompany the team to Australia.


Most of the players who were part of Sri Lankan squad for Asia Cup 2022 are included in Lanka’s T20 World Cup squad. Mathis Pathirana, who made his Asia Cup debut for Sri Lanka this year, hasn’t been named in Sri Lanka’s T20 World Cup 2022 squad.


Senior middle-order batter Dinesh Chandimal, who made a comeback in the T20I squad in the Asia Cup, has been named on the list of standby players. Left-arm pacer Dilshan Madushanka retained his place in the team after a stellar performance in Asia Cup 2022. Dhananjaya de Silva and Jeffrey Vandersay also managed to get picked in the Sri Lankan team for the marquee event.


Sri Lanka’s leading pacer Chameera has not fully recovered from his ankle injury and his availability will depend on his fitness. Despite his and Lahiru Kumara’s injuries, the team has many options in the form of fast bowlers, with Madushanka, Pramod Madushan, and Chamika Karunaratne on the list.


T20 World Cup squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera (Subject to fitness), Lahiru Kumara (Subject to fitness), Dilshan Madushanka and Pramod Madushan.


Standby Players: Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrema, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando and Nuwanidu Fernando 


Source link

By Dipak

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.