The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday stated that the Indian speedster Deepak Chahar will not be taking part in the T20 World Cup due to a back injury. Chahar was added to the standby list.  Since Chahar is injured now, the selectors have asked Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Shardul Thakur to go to Australia.

“Deepak will take some time to get fit. His back issue has flared up again. His ankle is fine and there wasn’t any problem there. So BCCI is sending three reinforcements, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Shardul Thakur,” a BCCI official told PTI on conditions of anonymity. Out of the three pacers, one will be replacing Jasprit Bumrah in the squad of 15.

Also Read: England’s Ben Stokes Saves Six With Incredible Fielding On Boundary Rope. Watch Video

The team management has been given time till October 15 to name Bumrah’s replacement. Meanwhile, the Indian team can test the form and fitness of all three speedsters. Deepak Chahar was last seen playing in the T20 series against South Africa but then he suffered a back injury and was ruled out of the ODI series. 

The Indian ace paceman Shami is ahead in the list but Siraj bowled brilliantly in the recently concluded ODI series against South Africa. He also won the man of the Series. Siraj scalped five wickets in the series. The Mumbai-based Shardul Thakur will travel as a cover to Hardik Pandya since he is an all-rounder.

Also Read: T20 World Cup: Five New Changes To Playing Conditions Announced By ICC


Source link

By Dipak

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *