The opening edition of Women’s IPL will witness five teams and the much-anticipated event will be taking place in March 2023.  According to the BCCI note obtained by PTI, the tournament will have 20 league matches. Every team will compete with each other twice. Whoever will top the table, will get a direct ticket in the final, while the second and third-place teams will lock horns in the Eliminator.

All the teams have been instructed to add no more than five overseas cricketers to the playing eleven.

“To have a well balance of domestic & international players and to have competitive teams, it has been tentatively decided to have five teams for WIPL. Each team can comprise maximum of eighteen players whereas no team can have more than six overseas players.

“Further, no more than five overseas players – four from Full Members of the ICC and one from the Associate Members of the ICC – can be part of the playing XI of each team,” read the BCCI note.

Australia’s Big Bash League and The Hundred in the UK have a maximum of three overseas players and a squad size of 15.

The marquee event is likely to be held soon after the Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa from February 9-26.

“Like IPL it will be a challenge to play in the home-away format in WIPL, as with five to six teams it is not possible to have a match every day. It is suggested that the tournament can be played in caravan style where after finishing ten matches at one venue next ten matches to be played at next venue.

The  note also stated, “therefore, ten matches each to be played across two venues in 2023 WIPL season, ten each in the next two venues in 2024 season and for 2025 season ten matches in remaining one venue and remaining ten in one of the venues from 2023 season.” 

“Alternatively, teams in WIPL can be sold and matches may take place at venue that currently host IPL matches.” 


Source link

By Dipak

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *